top of page

Is College Just Eating at Different Places?

I'm excited to get into the real world but realizing that I am entering my last year of college is making it all feel a little too real. An alumni from my university, Olivia Easly, came to speak to one of my classes and explained what it was like to make the transition. What struck me the most when she was talking was that she had to apply for internships as early as October of her senior year. This made me realize that senior year won't even be like school at all. Planning for whats to come next will most likely consume both semesters, for a good reason. I was excited to learn that making a linked in profile and connecting with every single employer I have ever worked for will not go to waste. Although I was a little reminiscent realizing that I only had a little bit of college left to experience.

I wanted to make a list of foods that describe everyones college experience. At least what most Appalachian State University students experience. Something I can look back on and remember while I'm getting ready to leave for a job I have lined up after graduation (hopefully).

FRESHMAN YEAR

Central Dining hall, or Roess Dining hall as all the freshman called it, because thats what it said on the front sign (and no one cared to tell us that no one called it that). The first few weeks were spent eating at central and occasionally at Mcallister's because we weren't ready to venture off campus yet. Weeks filled of Chic Fil A and Breakfast for dinner and the occasional salad bar when you were pretending to be healthy. But after that phase passed we blew all of our money on King Street restaurants because we wanted to say we had been everywhere.

SOPHOMORE YEAR

Coffee became an essential. People who didn't drink coffee started and people who already did, drank more. We were finally settled in and school was moving faster. I found myself eating at Bojangles, waffle house, Wendy's and just about anywhere on 321 that had fries and chicken. But I don't want to admit that fried food made up most of my diet sophomore year. I'll stick with coffee because it got me through nights when sleep was a maybe.

JUNIOR YEAR

So, fried food isn't the best for your health. Most people already know that but when you are young sometimes it feels like fried food is its own food group. This year I moved off campus and eating wasn't as easy as walking outside my door and picking up something someone else made. I have to make lunch and dinner and wake up early enough to have coffee. Eating healthy has become something I have to do because its the easiest. Throwing a salad together and having it be perfectly tossed from being in your backpack for half of the day is always a plus.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page