top of page

Story Time: Journey to Macarons


I'm going to tell you about my experience with making Macarons. These aren't those coconut macaroons that everyone seems to love and I really really hate. I'm talking about the french cookies that are $4 a piece because they are made with almond flour, and make you question why they are so expensive in the first place. They are the little cookies that look like pancakes with a little bit of filling in the middle. I've always been enthusiastic when it comes to baking and I take on every challenge head on. So when I heard that no one gets Macarons right the first time, I had to try it.

I was about 15 when I tried to make them for the first time. My mom took my to the store, I got my almond flour and I was ready to bake. Reading a recipe is much easier than executing it, so my confidence was sky high. Mix dry ingredients, whisk eggs whites, fold dry ingredients into egg whites. What a recipe can't tell you is everything has to be perfect, even down to the humidity percentage that day! Long story short I followed the recipe exactly, at least to my knowledge and my cookies turned out miserably. They had no feet (which is when the cookie raises up and creates a little ruffle around the edge) they were flat, chewy, and not shiny at all. So I tried again, and again, and again.. and again. Each time I would get one aspect right and not the other so I would have to start all over again. Finally on my tenth try with the tenth different recipe I made the perfect Macaron.

This is a link to the recipe that I used for my perfect Macarons which you can see in the picture above!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page